Spring tulips watercolor painting

watercolor tulips painting

Spring is here and I am looking forward to the arrival of all of the beautiful tulips.

I tried something new last fall and planted a bunch of bulbs in large flower pots. They stayed in my shed over the winter and I brought them out last month. To my delight they are coming up now and it looks like I will have a bunch to enjoy. I can’t wait!

Speaking of tulips, I have a few in progress shots of a recent painting to share.

watercolor tulips painting - step 1

Starting out I added some simple tulip shapes with a just a few brush stokes for each. A large round brush worked nicely for this.

Watercolor tulips painting - step 2

Adding some leaves and additional flowers here. Now the painting is starting to come together as the layering continues.

watercolor tulips painting - final step

I arrived at this final composition. I really like the balance and movement as well as the pretty tulips.

Keeping it simple and fun was what this was all about. I hope you are inspired to create art and do something you love.

Until next time, share a smile and shine on.

Happy Painting!

Patty Anne β™‘πŸŒ·

Author: pattyanneart

An artist in love with watercolor painting and photography. On a journey to share art and happiness.

4 thoughts on “Spring tulips watercolor painting”

Leave a comment