Watercolor landscape squares

landscape watercolor play

I had fun playing and painting watercolor landscape squares this week.

I was inspired by the beautiful work and creativity of fellow blogger and friend Jill Kuhn. I love her November Square-A-Day landscapes and decided to try a few squares.

You can check out Jill’s post here, November Square-A-Day Landscapes

Happy Thursday, friends! πŸ’™

 

watercolor landscapes in progress

I started by taping off a few sections in my watercolor sketchbook.

My plan was to keep it simple and limit each square to a just a few colors.

 

watercolor landscape squares

Daniel Smith watercolors used:Β  Sap Green, Pthalo Blue, and Carbazole Violet
Brush used: Round #12

This was a fun way to play and work on ideas for future paintings. Although a large part of this exercise was about trying different color combinations, I was reminded how important it is to leave some unpainted areas. Leaving a little white of the paper adds interest and also a little sparkle.

I hope you are inspired to create art and have fun.

Until next time, share a smile and stay excellent! 😊

🌸 Patty Anne  🌸

follow me on InstagramΒ  @pattyanneart

Author: pattyanneart

An artist in love with watercolor painting and photography. On a journey to share art and happiness.

12 thoughts on “Watercolor landscape squares”

  1. Hi Patty! Thank you for mentioning my blog… I so LOVE your landscapes experiments! 😍 I also enjoyed experimenting with color. I like how you left some white space too. I will have to try your method in an art journal! Thanks for inspiring me as well, my friend! β€οΈπŸŽ¨πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment