Dogwood inspired watercolor

Dogwood watercolor and ink painting

Today I have a watercolor inspired by the flowering Dogwood tree in my yard.

Happy Thursday, friends! πŸ’š

 

Dogwood watercolor under painting

7 x 10 inch watercolor under painting

I started with a painting of pretty petals and leaves. No details needed at this point, that will come later with the ink sketching. The loose watercolor provides a nice base for the ink sketch.

I love that peachy pink, as I’ve said before I have a serious #colorcrush on that combination. πŸ˜‰

 

Dogwood watercolor and ink painting

A little sketching with a Sepia micron pen provides the needed floral detail.

I like that the fine tip Sepia doesn’t overpower this piece. I also used a white gel pen for just a few highlights here and there.

I hope you are inspired to create art and do more of what you love.

Until next time, share a smile and stay excellent!

🌸 Patty Anne  🌸

find me on Instagram at pattyanneart

Patty Anne Art

Author: pattyanneart

An artist in love with watercolor painting and photography. On a journey to share art and happiness.

9 thoughts on “Dogwood inspired watercolor”

Leave a comment